China – The Karate Kid (2010)

Image

I know this has nothing to do with our trip but as I watch this movie for maybe the 12th 25th time (according to my youngest daughter); I wonder what drives me into this movie.

My kids can’t take it anymore, they just have enough. But every-time I need some distraction; I reach out to the sky remote to watch this movie which is recorded on my sky+ with a K attached to it. The K means “keep” which is password protected to avoid that the movie gets deleted by “mistake” by one of my kids.

Have you watched this movie? I just love it. From the scenes in the “China airlines” plane to the car ride into Beijing with beautiful views of the city; this movie gives us an insight of a typical Chinese living space and its neighborhood like I never seen in any other movies. Unlike the Hollywood movies which always show you either idyllic or worst places; this movie shows you how it could be like to live in China and maybe this is one of the thing that draws me to it.

The story is about a single mum moving to China with her 12 years old boy named Dre. I can easily relate to the mother as I will be traveling alone with my daughters.

Since watching this movie, one of the soundtrack became one of my favorite song: – Say – by John Mayer; here some of the lyrics:

Walking like a one man army
Fighting with the shadows in your head
Living out the same old moment
Knowing you’d be better off instead

If you could only
Say what you need to say (x7)

Jaden Smith (Will Smith’ son) plays so well in this movie, he is so convincing that no matter how many times I watch it, I always have tears in my eyes when he says “I wanna go home” :); you have to watch the movie to see what I am talking about.

Jackie Chan is excellent as always and Taraji P. Henson (Dre’s mother) although she has a small role in the movie, has Dre’s mother, she makes the story more credible.

I know the movie received mixed reviews with 3 stars out of 5. I give it 5/5; the only thing I would change is the violence, I still can’t watch the beating scenes, I have to look away. Maybe it is just because I am a mum and ultimately I react like one and want to protect him. But to me this only add credit to the actors as the fighting scenes are really believable.

Have you watched this movie? what did you think of it?

Did the movie like me inspired you (even more) to travel to China?

Is there any other movies that enhanced the travel bug in you?

By Jasenomade - The New Generation of Africans

One comment on “China – The Karate Kid (2010)

Leave a Reply

