Packing for Bangkok/Thailand…. Minimalist Packing

Packing started for our holiday to Thailand next week, as an aspiring minimalist; I started a few years back to travel only with a carry on luggage. It is so freeing and less stressful.

I have 2 options; a backpack or a small carry on luggage. I am debating which one is the best option.

The backpack keep your hands free and you can run with it on your back.

The small in flight luggage is just a more conventional way to travel and does not scream tourist too much as the backpack would. In my eyes, theses are the only differences.

Here my 2 options:

20150524_154956Same size and capacity. Which one to take?

The backpack is more compact than the valise. Although a taxi will collect us from the airport to the hotel and back; from this world where everything is unpredictable and anything can happen, I feel like the backpack would be a better choice. I never been in this part of of world, so I want to take every precautions possible.

Decision taken right now as I write; backpack it is.

Now down to what to take, what to wear. Thailand being a hot climate country; we need summer clothes only with one or two long sleeves to protect ourselves from the bugs/mosquitoes etc and the sun.

I took a picture previously, the list has change a little bit since as I altered 2 dresses I am now going to include in my bag and removed 2 t-shirts to balance the list. You can check out the post about the 2 dresses refashioned here.

20150516_183539[1] 20150516_194832[1]

For 10 days (2 days traveling), here the list:

  • 1 knee length short
  • 1 3/4 trousers
  • 2 dresses
  • 5 T-shirts 1 long sleeves 1 vest top
  • underwear  x7 (2 bras will be wearing one)
  • 1 kimono
  • 1 lightweight cover up
  • 1 legging (will serve as PJ or for exercise)
  • 1 big scarf
  • I pair of trainers (travelling with them and will be my main shoes)
  • 1 pair of Primark light sandal
  • 1 pair of flip flop
  • medical kit and toiletries

Day back and shopping bag on the go option:

daybag20150524_15520820150524_155233

Oh, I am consideration bringing a hat, I always buy hats but never wear them; I found them great on other people but not on me. But here the one I have: 20150524_155133Nice but… will see, I have a cap as well and more comfortable wearing them.

For the rest, the usual, sun screen, first aid kit, wipes etc…

20150524_191648[1] 20150524_191716[1] 20150524_155636

In February 2015 I bought a travel pillow with a hood in Primark while I was in England for a short trip. It is very comfortable and the hood covers your eyes too so can double and eye mask. 20150524_193339[1]

Here for the packing list. I will re-check everything the day before our flight is due as always.

I don’t need to keep any space in my pack for souvenirs as I stopped buying them years ago now. Photos from the holiday are enough; I might buy a little convenient thing for everyday use that will remind me my trip; but it is not compulsory.

Until n20150516_195138[1]ext time; “collect memories not things” 🙂

By Jasenomade - The New Generation of Africans

Leave a Reply

